The Stages of Labor and Delivery

Pregnancy Guide

Share this on

What are the Different Phases of Labor?

The first phase of labor is divided into three levels: latent, active, and transition.

Latent Level

The longest and least painful level. Contractions become more frequent supporting the cervix to dilate enabling the baby to pass through the birth canal. The cervix dilates from 2 to 4 cm (centimeters) and efface. As your contractions regulate, the hospital will most likely admit you.

Active Level

The cervix dilates from 4 to 7cm. Powerful throbbing, pressure in your back or abdomen and discomfort is becoming apparent during each contraction. You will feel pressure and want to begin pushing. The doctor will instruct you to relax and wait until your cervix is fully open.

Transition Level

The cervix fully dilates to 10cm. Contractions are extremely strong, painful, and recurrent, contracting three to four minutes apart for 60 to 90 seconds each.

What takes place during the Crowning and Delivery?

The second phase initiates when the cervix is fully open. You will be given instruction to begin pushing. The pushing along with the strength of the contractions, allows the baby through the birth canal.

The soft spots on your baby's head allow this.

Crowning of the baby's head transpires when the widest part of the head touches the vaginal opening. Once the baby’s head is through the canal, suction is employed to draw in the amniotic fluid, blood, and mucus the nose and mouth. Pushing continues to release the baby's shoulders and body through the canal.

After the delivery, the umbilical cord is cut.

What takes place after the LIve Birth?

The final phase of labor extracts the placenta, the organ that nurtured your baby inside the sac.

Every labor and delivery can differ along with the amount of time to deliver.